HomeNEWSAlcorn Hosts 84th Annual Honors Convocation

Alcorn Hosts 84th Annual Honors Convocation

The 84th Annual Honors Convocation at Alcorn State University (ASU) took place in the Oakland Memorial Chapel Sanctuary on Thursday, March 23, 2023, at 10:00 am. Alcorn students from the Spring and Fall semesters of 2022 were recognized for their academic excellence.

For the Fall and Spring semesters, 600 students were on the President’s or Dean’s lists. The Convocation brought together Deans, Instructors, and Department heads to congratulate the students who were placed on the academic lists. The criteria for the President’s list is a grade point average of 4.0 within a semester while the criteria for a Dean’s scholar is a grade point average of 3.5-3.99 within a semester. These students were recognized by name and received a certificate. Juniors and Seniors who remained on the President’s list for two consecutive terms received a certificate and a sweater. Students who completed this for three consecutive terms received a medal. A student may graduate as an Honors Curriculum Program Scholar if they maintain at least a 3.25 grade point average and complete 24 credit hours.

The Director of the Myrlie Evers-Williams Honors Program is Reverend Dr. C. Edward Rhodes II who presided over the event. With help from Tony Gordon, Assistant Professor of Music, the program saw members of the Gospel choir performing selections. Freshman, Ernest Fields, led the singing of “Lift Every Voice and Sing”. A trumpet duet was performed by Junior Music Education major, Cortez Toy, and Instructor of Music, Dr. Ryan Stansky. The Braves’ Battalion posted the colors at the event and the invocation was given by the President of the Student Government Association, Christopher Epps. Jordan Buck, Junior Class President, welcomed the staff, students, and families that were present. 

The occasion of the program was the school’s theme “Scholarship, Service and Dignity.” Reverend Rhodes spoke to the audience on the importance of celebrating the students present at the program. “Especially because you are scholars, we expect you to serve not only here at Alcorn, but to serve beyond these hallowed grounds beneath the shades of giant trees,” said Reverend Rhodes. 

Going row-by-row, Dr. Joyce Buckner-Brown and Dr. Heather Bailey read out the names of students and what awards they received. Dr. Buckner-Brown is the Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education and Student Success and Dr. Bailey is an English Assistant Professor. Closing remarks were given by Dr. Natasha Hutson, the Chief of Staff at Alcorn.

(Photo credit: Bria Fells)

Joy Thornton
Joy Thornton
Joy Thornton is a Senior Mass Communications major from Pass Christian, Mississippi. She will be a contributor for The Campus Chronicle for the 2023-2024 academic year.


Related News