Album Review: DROGAS Light


Lupe Fiasco continues his tradition of releasing an album every two years to the dismay of most of his fans. Most of Fiasco’s fans thought that he would retire after releasing “Tetsuo & Youth”, but the release of “DROGAS Light” took a lot of music lovers by surprise. “DROGAS Light” was released on February 10, 2017 consisting of 14 tracks. Some songs receiving an honorable mention were ‘Kill’, ‘More Than My Heart’, and ‘Tranquilo’. This is the first album that Fiasco released since he emancipated himself from his long term collaboration with Atlantic Records. The album features other artists such as Ty Dolla $ign, Rick Ross, Salim and Simon Sayz.

The album is considered a new beginning for Fiasco because it is the first blast of an upcoming album trilogy that is set to continue later in 2017. The name for the next two albums will be “DROGAS” and “Skull”. “DROGAS Light” was produced by SoundTrakk, Floss & Flame, CyFyre, BHam and BSides. Almost half of the songs that are featured on the album were old songs that Fiasco wanted to hold in a vault and wait to bring out to the spotlight in addition with his new material.  This new core of music represents how far he has come since he first entered the rap game. This album also shows how  Fiasco is still considered the savior of the Hip-Hop genre. Even though some of his lyrics are somewhat exhausting, this album made No. 14 on the Billboard 200. After the release of the rest of the trilogy, “DROGAS” and “Skulls”, Fiasco will throw in the towel and retire from his rap career. So far, it seems like the album trilogy might end as a bigger success than even Fiasco would have imagined.

“DROGAS Light” is an enjoyable beginning to the end of Fiasco’s memorable career. This album receives 8 stars out of 10 stars.