HomeSPORTSBraves Send 4 to Legacy Bowl

Braves Send 4 to Legacy Bowl

On Saturday, February 25th at 3:00 pm in Yulman Stadium in New Orleans, Louisiana the Historically Black College and University (HBCU) Legacy Bowl was played which showcased the best National Football League (NFL) draft eligible football players from the Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC), Mid-Eastern Atlantic Conference (MEAC), Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) and the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC). The game was televised on the NFL Network.

The two men responsible for constructing this All-Star Post Season extravaganza was NFL legends Doug Williams and James “Shack” Harris, both from Grambling State University. By doing so, both men exposed many HBCU players to professional teams and scouts.

The players were divided into two teams, Team Gaither and Team Robinson, each of which represented a legendary HBCU coach. Coach Jake Gaither served as the head coach of Florida A&M University for 25 years compiling a 204-36-4 record while Coach Eddie Robinson spent 52 years as the head coach of Grambling State University with a record of 408-165-15. Both teams had two head coaches. Team Gaither was led by co-head coaches Richard Hayes Jr. of Fayetteville State and Trei Oliver of North Carolina Central while Team Robinson was led by co-head coaches Chennis Berry of Benedict College and Eric Dooley of Southern University.

Alcorn sent 3 players from their roster to participate in the Legacy game which consisted of CJ Bolar a 6’1″ 195-pound wide receiver, Claudin Cherelus a 6’2″ 230-pound Linebacker and Keyron Kinsler Jr. a 5’11” 190-pound Safety. The Braves played on Team Robinson.

Team Robinson won the contest with a 10-3 victory. Southern University’s Defensive Lineman James Dumas earned Defensive MVP honors with 3 sacks while Florida A&M’s Wide Receiver Xavier Smith won Offensive MVP with 8 receptions for 92 yards and one touchdown catch.

Christeana Story-Davis
Christeana Story-Davis
Christeana Story-Davis is a Senior Mass Communications major from Vallejo, California. She will be a contributor for The Campus Chronicle for the 2022-2023 school year.


Related News