Musician’s Spotlight: The Internet


Formed in late 2011, The Internet consists of six members, Syd the Kid and Matt Martians, Christopher Smith, Patrick Paige, Steve Lacey, and Jameel Bruner. The group is based in California.

After meeting on MySpace, Syd and Martians, a self-taught music producer, soon became roommates and musical partners. The two originally intended to make beats, write songs, and then sell them to other artists. But, after not being able to find the right people for their music, Syd began singing the songs herself.

The group’s debut album, ‘Purple Naked Ladies’, was released through Odd Future Records on December 20, 2011. In 2013, The Internet dropped their second album, ‘Feel Good’, which featured Mac Miller. The band later performed with Mac Miller in London in promotion of his second album, ‘Watching Movies with the Sound Off’.

The band’s beginning sound was inspired by the L.A. group Sa-Ra and N.E.R.D. Martians stated that N.E.R.D.’s 2001 debut, ‘In Search Of’, showed that you could be a cool, nerdy, black kid and make really weird music. Their recent album, ‘Ego Death’ is being used as a platform to expand the group’s fan base and tell Syd’s story.

Currently The Internet is on tour until February 2016.