HomeMUSICArtist's Spotlight: Lil Durk

Artist’s Spotlight: Lil Durk

Durk Derrick Banks, professionally known as Lil Durk, is an American rapper born on October 19, 1992 from Chicago, Illinois. The rapper is also the creator of the street gang OTF which stands for Only The Family.

Banks flirted with idea of becoming a rapper on MySpace and YouTube until his fanbase started to expand online. He took rapping seriously in 2010 when he became a father. In 2012, he released a mixtape titled ‘Life Ain’t No Joke’ which received great feedback. “L’s Anthem”, a track off of the mixtape was remixed with French Montana and due to the success of the record, Banks signed a joint venture deal with Def Jam in 2013. In 2013, he also released another mixtape titled ‘Signed To The Streets’ which was released exclusively on Dattpiff. Eight music videos were used to promote the mixtape which generated a lot of buzz for the rapper, so much so, that Banks released another mixtape in July of 2014 titled ‘The Sequel To Signed To The Streets’.

Banks released his debut studio album in 2015 titled ‘Remember My Name’ with the lead off single “Like Me” featuring Jeremih. The album peaked at number fourteen on the Billboard 200 and sold 24,000 copies its first week. Later that year, Banks released his sixth mixtape, ‘300 Days, 300 Nights’ on December 15, 2015. On March 29, 2018, he announced his twelfth mixtape would be released the next day at midnight which was his first mixtape to be released for digital retail titled ‘Just Cause Y’all Waited’. The mixtape has since become Bank’s first non-album project to peak on a Billboard chart, charting at number fifty-seven on the Billboard 200, and twenty-eight on the Top R&B/HIPHOP Albums.

By May 8, 2020, Banks released his 5th studio album titled ‘Just Cause Y’all Waited 2’. The album contained his 2nd highest charting song “3 Headed Goat” featuring Polo G and Lil Baby. On February 22, 2022, Banks released a new single, “AHHH HA”, produced by Southside. He initially stated that his seventh studio album, ‘7220′, was due to be released on the same day, but it was pushed back to March 11. It was released then, consisting of 17 tracks, including guest appearances from Future, Gunna, Summer Walker and Morgan Wallen.

Ivan Walker
Ivan Walker
Ivan Walker is a Graduating Senior Mass Communications major from Isola, Mississippi. He will be a contributor for The Campus Chronicle for the Fall 2022 semester.


Related News