ASU Hosts Presidential Inauguration Events


On Friday, April 16th, Alcorn State University (ASU) inaugurated its first female president, Dr. Felecia M. Nave. Leading up to the inauguration, ASU hosted a week of events, starting on Wednesday, April 14th.

On Wednesday, April 14, the Student Government Association (SGA), Miss Alcorn State University 2020-2021, Taea Jackson, and various student organizations hosted “Inauguration Celebration on The Yard” which was held on the Bowles Hall Veranda and the Campus Green from 11:00 am to 2:00 pm. The event showcased an assortment of foods, games, a DJ and a student talent competition, which offered prizes for students who finished within the top 3 competitors. In addition, the first 250 students were given a free inauguration T-shirt. Later that evening, from 6:00 pm to 8:00 pm, the Office for Educational Equity and Inclusion in collaboration with the Vicksburg Alumni Chapter, hosted the “Inaugural Women of Courage Award Ceremony” which took place at the Vicksburg Convention Center. The ceremony recognized women alumni who had made a tremendous impact on the Alcorn community, as well as their professions. The honorees were Alyce Griffin Clark (1961 graduate), Dr. Myrlie Evers-Williams (1952 graduate), Dr. Katie Grays Dorset (1953 graduate), Dr. Adena Loston (1973 graduate), Dr. Rukeyser Thompson (1995 graduate) and Dr. Jacqueline Walters (1993 graduate).

On Thursday, April 15, the day began with “Danish & Coffee Conversations with the President” from 8:30 am to 10:00 am in the J.D. Boyd Library Auditorium on the Lorman campus. The event was hosted by the Faculty and Staff Senate, which brought engagement on a plethora of topics between the President and faculty and staff. From 2:00 pm to 3:00 pm, the School of Nursing and Regions Bank hosted the “Inaugural President Lecture Series” which was presented in the MBA Building Auditorium on the Natchez campus. The lecture focused on health care and the COVID-19 virus. Following the lecture, a reception was held in the MBA lobby from 3:00 pm to 4:30 pm.

On Friday, April 16, inauguration day began with an inauguration prayer breakfast hosted by the National Alumni Association which was held from 9:00 am to 10:30 am in the Dr. Clinton Bristow Jr. Dining Gold Room. At 12:00 pm the investiture of 20th President, Dr. Felicia M. Nave, was held in the Oakland Memorial Chapel. The inauguration included musical selections by the Alcorn State University Choral Ensemble and violinist John Uzodinma. Dr. Alfred Rankins Jr., Commissioner of Higher Education and Alcorn’s 19th President, presented the investiture of the President. Following the inauguration, a reception took place in the Alumni House and Campus Green from 2:00 pm to 4:00 pm. An inauguration firework’s celebration was held in Spinks-Casem Stadium from 6:30 pm to 8:30 pm in which students, faculty, staff, alumni and the surrounding community came together to enjoy. Inauguration week concluded with an invite-only reception and gala at the Westin Hotel in Jackson, Mississippi located on 407 Congress St. from 6:30 pm to 10:00 pm.