HomeNEWSMister and Miss Alcorn State University Crowned at Coronation

Mister and Miss Alcorn State University Crowned at Coronation

The Coronation of the 96th Miss Alcorn State University (ASU) and the 2nd Mister Alcorn State University took place on Thursday, October 20th at 7:00 pm in the Davey L. Whitney HPER Arena Complex.

An all-white affair, the gym was decked out for Miss Alcorn, Bria Fells and Mister Alcorn, Kendrick Walker Jr. They were accompanied by their friends, family, and peers as they celebrated their night. They were also joined by the Resilient Royal Court and the royalty from each department and organization. 

The night began with the posting of the colors from the ASU Army R.O.T.C. Color Guard. The Master and Mistress of the ceremony were Xavian Lewis and Inez Moore. Her Majesty, Lady Bria Fells, was crowned, robed, and presented with roses by the 20th President of Alcorn State University, Dr. Felicia Nave, Vice President for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management, Dr. Tracy Cook, and the Assistant Director of Student Engagement, Jarvis Walls. 

Mister and Miss Alcorn gave speeches on how it felt to be crowned. After her father passed earlier this year, Miss 96th was emotional as she spoke about what being crowned meant to her. As a fourth-generation Alcornite, the night was “A dream come true,” said Fells.

Afterwards, Mister and Miss Alcorn were joined on the floor by their Court of Resilient Royals for the Royal Dance. The Royal Duo then took turns performing the traditional dance with their family members. Walker Jr. was accompanied by his mother, Laquetta Williams, while Fells was accompanied by her brother, Princeton Bonya Fells, and her grandfather, Carl Johnson.

The evening concluded with the procession of the newly crowned duo and everyone coming together to sing the alma mater.

(Photo Credit: Kendrick Walker Jr.)

Joy Thornton
Joy Thornton
Joy Thornton is a Senior Mass Communications major from Pass Christian, Mississippi. She will be a contributor for The Campus Chronicle for the 2023-2024 academic year.


Related News